What should I expect on my court date for driving without insurance?
I recently got pulled over and received a ticket for no proof of insurance. The officer said that if I brought in proof of insurance within 7 working days, that the citation would be waived. So, I got some insurance and took the proof in, but the lady said that I need a insurance card with the date of the citation on it. So, what I'm saying is, I did not have insurance at the time that I got pulled over and I am very worried about what will happen next. I've heard that I may get a suspended license and a fine. What should I expect? Is there anything specific I should do?
Most states require that you have liability insurance in order to drive a car on their roadways if you register a car in their state. Kansas as well. It is my understanding that under Kansas law, if you operate a motor vehicle without insurance it is considered a Class B misdemeanor and you can be issued a fine of between $300 and $1000 dollars (minimum and maximum), jail time of up to 6 months or both. I am sure that suspending your license is an option as well. I would consult with an attorney that deals with these types of cases on a regular basis to possibly help defense you, not that there is a "defense" really. But an attorney that is respected in the field will know if there is any "give" in the sentence say for community service instead of jail time. Good luck.