Ask a Criminal Defense Lawyer

Ask a Lawyer. No obligation, answers to your legal questions.

New Michigan Criminal Defense Legal Questions & Answers

Is 19 years between incidents especially one from another state still considered habitual in MICHIGAN

Habitual in criminal law would better be called "repeated": that is, they are not …

FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney answered 1 month ago

Age of Consent clarification Michigan

You are prohibited from engaging in "sexual penetration," which your state defines as intercourse, …

FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney answered 1 month ago

Does the truancy officer who actually wrote me a citation have to be physically present in court?

If you "not guilty" and go to trial, if the state can't produce the …

FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney answered 3 months ago

Does a detached garage count as a dwelling that is protected under the Castle Doctrine?

A detached garage is not your home as that word is commonly understood: it …

FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney answered 5 months ago

Can the victim in a felonious assault case be charged if self-defense is proven?

You are putting the cart before the horse, so to speak: self-defense is not …

FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney answered 12 months ago