What happens to a parent who lets an unlicensed child drive a car?
My mom was caught letting my 17 year old brother drive without a licence or permit. She was letting him drive because he was planning to get his license in a couple months when he turned 18. He was speeding almost 40 in a 25mile per hour zone. The cop gave my mom and my brother a court hearing. And my mom got a letter in the mail today saying that she has to get her fingerprints before the court hearing. I looked it up and I thought you only had to pay the fine. My mom doesn't have any criminal record or a driving ticket in the last 8 years. What will happen to my mom?
Letting a minor drive without a license and without supervision (I am assuming he didn't have a learner's permit and she wasn't with him) is an offense whose penalties differ in each state. In California, your brother rightfully received a ticket and will probably be delayed in being able to obtain his driver's license. A driver's license in the United States (in any state) is a privilege and not a right. A provision within the California Vehicle Code absolutely prohibits a parent to cause or knowingly permit a minor to drive unless licensed under the California Vehicle Code. The fine should be about $200.00 but what troubles me is they wish to obtain her fingerprints. A traffic violation without an arrest doesn't require fingerprints. Your mom better speak to counsel.
Related article: Your Legal Rights in Traffic Court