What is the penalty for petty larceny first offense?
I want to know how much the fine will be in NH and if I will be able to waive it? Petty larceny under $85.
In New Hampshire, petty larceny or petty theft - known to most as shoplifting - is called "willful concealment" generally there and like other states it is generally charged as a misdemeanor. I can not clearly pin point the fine. Some sites state it can be $200 plus the value of the item and return of the item. That seems to be if the value in under $1000. If the value is over $1000 then it can be charged as a more serious crime. It can be charged as a class A or class B misdemeanor. A class A misdemeanor is punishable by up to a fine of $2000 and a maximum jail sentence of one year. A person can also be placed on probation. A class B misdemeanor is punishable by a fine of up to $1200; there is no chance of jail.
In the event that a person is charged with petty theft via shoplifting, New Hampshire statutes do allow for the victim and the suspect to enter into a 60 day agreement whereby the person accused would reimburse the shop owner or cause the merchandise to be returned without an admission of guilt. Remember, this will go on your record. So please consult with an attorney before you negotiate anything.