What happens for a second offense driving on suspended license?
First time was 2 years ago.
Get Help with a Suspended License Charge from a FL Lawyer. Many people who are pulled over and charged with driving on a suspended license had no idea that their license was under suspension. You may never have received a notification of suspension if you moved, or if the traffic incidence causing the suspension occurred out state. Or you may not have understood the terms and duration of a suspension. But it's happened to you, and suddenly you are facing a criminal charge. So what do you do next? It almost always is in your best interest to fight the charges. You do not want to have a permanent criminal record for a minor traffic violation or a paperwork mistake, and you do not deserve one. Do not plead guilty, and do not make any statements that you were aware of the suspension to the police, court officers, or anyone. Remain silent!Please call and speak to our attorneys to find out what you can do to protect your freedom to drive and keep your record clean. Can I Beat My FL Suspended License Charge? Yes, absolutely. The most common defense is that you did not know that your license was under suspension. We may have to establish lack of notification with evidence that you have moved, or other information, but this is generally the way to win.If we can convince the judge that you were not aware of the suspended license, then under Florida traffic laws, they must reduce the charge to a non-criminal traffic violation. Florida Driving on Suspended License - Penalties and LawsIf you are found guilty of operating a motor vehicle while your license is under suspension, you will be convicted of a second degree misdemeanor penalty under Florida criminal law. A 2nd degree misdemeanor carries a maximum sentence of 60 days in jail and a $500 fine.A second offense suspended license charge is a first degree misdemeanor (up to 1 year and $1000 fine. A third or subsequent offense driving on a suspended license charge is a third degree felony, which brings the maximum penalty up to 5 years in prison and $5000 in fines.Additional license suspension periods will also likely be added to any conviction. The prosecutor needs to prove that you were aware of the suspension to convict you. Evidence could be statements that you've made, proof that you received the notification, or a prior conviction is also sufficient proof that you were aware that your driver's license was under suspension. Penalties for driving on a revoked license are even more harsh.