Is a DWI considered a crime or offense in the state of NJ
Unlike NY and many other states, DWI is merely a traffic offense in New Jersey. (That is why DWI defendants in New Jersey have no right to a jury trial). It is a serious traffic offense that can result in 10 year loss of license and 180 days jail for a third offense, but it is still a traffic offense rather than a criminal offense in NJ. The NJ DWI statute is NJS 39:4-50, and title 39 is all traffic offenses.
A NJ DWI will not show up in a criminal history check, but it will show up i a driving history check from the motor vehicle commission.
DWI is not considered to be either a misdemeanor or felony; it is a motor vehicle offense. However, a conviction can still result in not only fines and other penalties but jail time as well.
If you want to know whether or not that this will show up on a criminal background check, it may or it may not. The DWI should not show up on a "criminal background check"; it will however, show up on your motor vehicle history.