How long does your employer have to give you your last pay check after you quit?
I recently quit my job and my employer has stated that I had to wait until the next normal payday to receive my check. This date is 9 days after the day I quit. Is this legal and is there any statute governing a time limit on a last check in NV? I was under no contract. Also, does your employer have to honor the last rate of hourly pay on your last pay stub? Since I was not a contract employee, I am worried my employer will downgrade my hourly. I'm hoping that's illegal.
Your employer cannot downgrade your hourly for those hours you already worked. In Nevada, according to the Nevada Office of the Labor Commissioner, when you are fired or laid off, wages and compensation earned and unpaid when discharged become due and payable immediately.
The employer has three days to get your final payment to you if you have been terminated. If you quit, wages and compensation must be paid no later than the day on which you would have been regularly paid or within 7 days, whichever is earlier.