19 year old first offense was arrested for possession of 1 ounce of marijuana with intent to sell and obstruction of public highway.
Question Details: What will sentencing be if charged for first offense marijuana possession with intent to sell?
In Tennessee, possession with intent to sell is a felony; the class of felony depends on the weight of the marijuana involved. In your case it would be a Class E since it was between .5 oz to 10 lbs. The penalty is 1-6 years in prison and up to a $5,000 fine. However, with your being a first time offender you might be eligible for something called "diversion". This would give you probation, and assuming you fullfill all probationary terms, you could be left with a clean criminal record.
However, I am not licensed in Tennessee. You need to speak to a criminal attorney in the area where all of this happened. He will know people in the prosecutor's office and hopefully can work out something along the lines of diversion.